Dr. Savio L-Y. Woo, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus and Founding Director of the Musculoskeletal Research Center in the Department of Bioengineering at the University of Pittsburgh has been selected as a 2022 Honorary Member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

ASME Honorary Membership is awarded by the ASME Board of Governors to up to 5 members of the Society each year for a lifetime of ‘distinguished service that contributes significantly to the attainment of the goals of the engineering profession’. 

ASME currently has over 85,000 active members from more than 135 countries. The Honorary Membership was first awarded in 1880, the founding year of the Society, and has been awarded to a total of 428 members. Among these honorary members are only 5 bioengineers – Drs. Yuan-Cheng Fung (1996), Werner Goldsmith (1997), Winfred Phillips (2009), Robert Nerem (2018) and Savio Woo (2022).

Categories: Recent News


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *